Weybridge register office ceremonies
The land known as Oatlands, in which Rylston stands, was originally Royal hunting grounds used by Henry VIII. The earliest record of land specifically called Rylston is dated 14 October 1874. The house was built in 1911 under instructions from Frederick Smith and described as a private dwelling with servants quarters. The property was to become known as Rylston. Surrey County Council purchased the house in 1963 and in 1991, Rylston was designated as a Register Office, opening to the public for business on 1 March 1993.
Rylston is an ideal setting for a Register Office. It has undergone some structural changes over the years, but the overall exterior of the house has hardly changed. It is a beautiful detached manor house with a large porch at the entrance, providing cover in the wet weather. The building retains most of its unique features including leaded light windows with original glass and unusual wrought iron fittings. The ground floor retains original oak panelling and fireplaces. The magnificent oak staircase with stained glass windows sweeps down to French windows leading onto the gardens.
The popular Rylston suite, tastefully decorated in burgundy, gold and ivory, has a maximum seating capacity of 50. The room offers impressive flower arrangements, mahogany furniture and appropriate framed pictures. It also has stunning chandelier lighting and the large bay window offers an attractive background for photographs. The room is air conditioned for extra comfort.
Rylston also has the statutory ceremony room for Surrey, which can accommodate six guests.